NISCC Chair Announced

1 April 2018

NISCC Chair Announced

Chief Executive, Colum Conway has welcomed the announcement of NISCC’s new Chair, Mr Paul Martin, who will take up post on 1 April 2018.

Speaking about the appointment, Colum said: “I am delighted to welcome Paul Martin as the new Chair of NISCC, at what is both an exciting and challenging time for the organisation. With the registration of a social care workforce of 40,000 people and a widespread recognition about the vital role they contribute to our society, there is a need for the value of the sector to be understood in a much broader social and economic context.

“Paul, as former Chief Social Services Inspector, Advisor to the Minister for Health and Social Services and EU Resident Advisor with NI-CO, brings with him a wealth of experience in the social care sector, both locally and internationally. I look forward to working alongside him, as we take forward the social care agenda.” 

Commenting on his appointment Mr Martin said: “I am very pleased to accept the role of NISCC Chair. Social care makes a further vital contribution to the citizens of Northern Ireland and I welcome the opportunity to play my part in working with our partners in building a sustainable and professional workforce that we can all be proud of.

“By setting and promoting high standards of conduct and practice for social care and social work, NISCC makes a significant contribution to protecting the public and ensures service users can live their lives as independently as possible.”  

The Department of Health has also appointed six new Non-Executive Members to the NISCC Council:
Mrs Roslyn Dougherty, Mrs Noelle Barton, Mrs Sarah Browne, Mrs Christine Hunter, Miss Jacqueline McGarvey and Mr David Hayes, who all take up post on 1 April 2018.  

Find out more

Spread the Word


« Back to News